**RELEASE BLITZ** 5 STAR REVIEW** Bullies Like Me by Lindy Zart

BULLIES LIKE ME RELEASE DAY BLITZ

Title: Bullies like Me

Genre: YA

Author: Lindy Zart

Universal Buy Link: books2read.com/bullieslikeme

Stop by www.facebook.com/lindyzart and check out the ongoing giveaways to win a signed paperback or an eBook of Bullies like Me

bullies-like-me-cover

Blurb:

If you can make it out of Enid High School alive, you can make it through anything.

Alexis is the new girl at school, and she’s ruthlessly bullied. Hopeless, and drowning in her present reality, she takes pills—lots of pills. She’s sent to a mental health facility, where she meets a boy. Only the boy can’t save her, and no one can save her from herself.

Nick has secrets. He wants to open up to Alexis, but there’s the dead boy who haunts him. In his dreams. While he’s awake. He wants to be brave, but he can’t tell her about his past, and he can’t leave the facility.

Melanie rules over the school, until a nobody named Lexie tries to disrupt her reign. She won’t allow that. She also can’t stop it. She plummets into notoriety, but she’s determined to take them all with her. The girl, the boy, and their secrets.

bullies-teaser

Excerpt:

Nick’s arm brushes against mine as we cross the street, and he flinches.

I grit my teeth, holding in my irritation until we reach the beginning of the path. Then I slam my hands on my hips and glare at him. “Okay, what is your deal? If you really didn’t want to be with me today, why didn’t you just say it?”

He opens his mouth.

My glower deepens.

“I don’t like being out in public. I don’t…like being around people,” he says after a pause. “I like to be alone.”

I throw my arms up in frustration. “Then why did you agree to this?”

Nick steps closer. “But I like to be with you more than I like to be alone, and even though I don’t like to be around people, I like to be around you—probably more than I should. How could I say no to being with you, even if it’s in a setting I despise?”

“That’s messed up,” I say, shaking my head, even as a warm glow fills my insides.

“I’m messed up.”

“You’re not, not really.”

He lowers his head, taking my hands in his. Examining them. It feels like fire and ice when we touch. Sparks and frost. “You have no idea, Alexis.” Nick threads our fingers together, lifting our hands between us, and looks at me.

“Tell me,” I whisper, feeling like I can’t breathe. My air is caught somewhere within the magnetic pull of blue-green seas. Who needs to breathe anyway?

“Someday,” he promises, and then, with our hands still entwined, he leans forward and kisses me.

His lips are soft, firm. Magic. Tasting of dreams and hope. And grief too. I’m kissing not only Nick, but his soul as well. I feel his heartbeat with my lips. I taste the feelings he has for me, and they are overwhelming. Catastrophically beautiful. The kiss lasts long enough to rearrange everything inside me, to steal my breath, to give it back. To let me know Nick has the power to ruin me. To let me know I’d probably let him.

                                                                                                                                                                                

4TLOR REVIEWS

5 Star Review ~ by Lou

Yet again, Lindy Zart has given us another story which has blown me away. This story is about bullying, but so much more than that. She manages to tell a story, which is actually really very real, raw and extremely relevant in all of our lives.

If you yourself, or anyone you know has been affected by bullying (whether as the bully or the bullied) then you should read this book. If you have children, grandchildren, any family or friends with children, then you should read this book. And to be honest, even if you think none of the above applies, I still think you should read this book – so many important messages are shared in this story, they can be applied to so many different scenarios and situations in life, everyone can learn and come away thinking about a thing or two. Plus it’s simply a damn good story!!!

Bullies Like Me is told from multiple PoV’s in the first person, including Alexis (or Lexie), Melanie and Nick. I think this gives a great insight into the lives and minds of different characters featured in the story line – we can see how certain actions can be perceived one way, and they impact they can have as well from different PoV’s. I perhaps would have even liked another PoV from Jocelyn or the other girls, as it wasn’t totally clear to me why Melanie was singled out.

Nick and Alexis’ friendship that they develop at Live is brilliant. I liked how their storyline developed without actually reveling either of one another’s full truths for quite some time. I liked the chemistry and the connection between them both, although as a reader not really knowing which direction things may go…

“He’s just a boy. Just a boy who makes my world spin. He doesn’t smile when I bring my eyes back to his. I don’t smile either. I am acutely aware of his warmth, his scent. His life. It feels like something’s changed between us, and I’m not sure when that happened.”

When all of the truths do come out as the story progresses, we can really see the full impact everyone’s actions can have on everyone around them.

This book contains a lot of hate, anger, hurt, tears, pain and desperation. As a reader you will feel many of these emotions yourself. Personally I connected with the characters really well, and found myself totally consumed by the story and the messages behind it. As a reader it’s very easy to say “oh, she shouldn’t be doing that”, or “He should just do this”, but I think unless you are there, and in the situation how can you fully understand the minds of those involved? I really felt a connection to this whole story and urge all the rad it. As much as this is a powerful and devastating story, there is also a lot of good in here too. A lot of happiness, positive feelings, strength and HOPE are important parts too.

I can see this must have been a very difficult book to write, and reading the authors note at the end makes you realise just how REAL this story can be in all of our lives, at whatever age you are.

***** 5 brilliant stars *****

Lou x

Review ~ by Donna

 With a title like this, I knew this would be a subject close to my heart and many others, I was an unfortunate victim of bullying at school and it hurts. So I was interested to see what or how Lindy would deal with this core subject, I knew she wouldn’t just touch on it and breeze past it. Therefore, I went in with caution knowing that my emotions would be seriously played with.

I wasn’t wrong. Told from multiple POVs Lindy honestly left no subject untouched, there was so many levels and depths of emotions that felt raw and real along with the feeling of hopelessness brought out Lindy’s writing style to perfection. What I loved was the glimmers of a hope that helped my heart heal. 

I implore you if you were or suffered at the hands of a bully, or not, if you have children of any age to read this book, in fact even if you don’t pick it up it is a book that should not be ignored. It gives you a perfect insight into how cruel we can be to one another. It makes you the reader sit back on your haunches and think hard. But it allows you to see the light and move forward. 

I applaud Lindy for reaching out and you will see why, this book is as raw as it is emotional and I am sure it was not an easy write ! 

5 Wonderfully bright Stars x 

Donna xx

                               *********

bullies-available-now

Author Info:

Website: www.lindyzart.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/lindyzart

Twitter: www.twitter.com/lindyzart | @LindyZart

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/LindyZart

Zartian Reading Group: http://bit.ly/1VEHxrJ

Zartian Blogger Signup Form: http://bit.ly/1SmZrZG

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/lindyzart

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/1RqPP3m

IG: https://www.instagram.com/zartlindy/  |@zartlindy

Youtube: http://bit.ly/1Qs6wXr

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/+LindyZart/posts

Author Bio:

lindy-zart

USA Today bestselling author Lindy Zart writes in a multitude of fictional genres because, well, her brain requires it so she stays somewhat sane. She has been writing since she was a child, but luckily for readers, her writing has improved since then.

She lives in Wisconsin with her family. Lindy loves hearing from people who enjoy her work. She also has a completely healthy obsession with the following: coffee, wine, pizza, peanut butter, and bloody marys.

Leave a Reply

