**REVIEW** Rules of a Rebel and a Shy Girl by Jessica Sorensen

rules of a rebel cover

Synopsis 

Willow

It started with a kiss and ended with a list. The middle is a bit more complicated.
The list of rules is supposed to protect mine and Beck’s friendship and stop us from accidentally kissing again. But most of all, it’s supposed to protect my heart from getting crushed and keep me from ending up broken like my mom.
I’ve always been great at following rules. But the more time I spend with Beck, the more I can’t stop thinking about that kiss and how amazing his lips felt against mine. For the first time in my life, I wish I was a rule breaker. But I can never cross that line. Not with Beck. Not with anyone.
Besides, if Beck knew the truth about my life, then the list wouldn’t have to exist because he wouldn’t have kissed me to begin with.

Beck

It started with the most amazing kiss ever and led to Willow handing me a list.
That stupid list. When she gave it to me, I wanted to shred it to pieces, pull her against me, and kiss her until she realized a piece of paper wasn’t going to stop me. Willow’s been my best friend since forever and she should know by now that I’m not a follow-the-rules kind of guy.
She may think that kiss was a mistake, but she’s wrong. Kisses like that can’t be a mistake. Willow and I belong together, have since the day I promised to always protect her from the bad stuff in her life. And somehow I’m going to prove it to her. Just like I’ll always protect her no matter what.

A standalone contemporary romance.

Suggested reading level 18+

Review by Donna

Jessica has such a way with words that I will never get bored with no matter what genre she writes in and YA are among her best. I guess this is why I class her as one of my favourite authors to read.
So Willow and Beckett (Becks) we met them previously in Confessions of a Kleptomaniac, this is their story ! And it’s a standalone. A friends to lovers story, I love how these stories unravel and how that line is finally reduced, scratched out and crossed.
Willow has rules, her and Becks have been friends forever and he has always made her feel safe and cared for. She has not had the easiest of home life, but doesn’t complain she just does what needs to be done to get by and with a little help from her friends albeit begrudgingly she is happy.
Beck is wealthy, but it doesn’t mean he’s happy or has a healthy relationship with his family. He cares deeply for Willow, but follows her rules for her. He loves to help and wishes she would see her worth.
As the story unfolds it’s in dual POV and we can see the feelings from both Willow and Beck and how frustrating it is and why you the reading feel like banging their heads together !! But what you see is lovely and as they learn to trust and trust in their hearts and each other.
It’s a great read, the supporting cast are fabulous and the story brilliant and beautiful I was hooked.
4.5 stars
Donna x

Purchase Links

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01L0N2WAG

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rules-Rebel-Girl-Jessica-Sorensen-ebook/dp/B01L0N2WAG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1472812506&sr=1-1&keywords=rules+of+a+rebel+and+a+shy+girl

 

 

Leave a Reply

