**REVIEW** PENNIE$ by Pepper Winters

pennies cover

Blurb

“At 18 I had pennies, but money didn’t make me bold. At 19 I had dollars, but it didn’t dull the pain of being sold. At 20 I had hundreds, but then I met him and was found. At 21 I had thousands, but all I wanted was to be bound.”

“At 23 I had dollars, but life changed and made me rich. At 25 I had hundreds, but it wasn’t enough to stop my killing itch. At 27 I had thousands, but my reputation didn’t set me free. At 29 I had millions, but I met her and could finally see.”

Tasmin was killed on her 18th birthday. She had everything planned out. A psychology degree, a mother who pushed her to greatness, and a future anyone would die for. But then her murderer saved her life, only to sell her into a totally different existence.

Elder went from penniless to stinking rich with one twist of fate. His lifetime of crime and shadows of thievery are behind him but no matter the power he now wields, it’s not enough. He has an agenda to fulfill and he won’t stop until it’s complete.

But then they meet.

A beaten slave and a richly dressed thief. Money is what guided their separate fates. Money is what brought them together. And money is ultimately what destroys them.

She was poor.
He was rich.
Together…they were bankrupt.

Review by Lou

I’m a real fan of darker reads, although probably don’t read them as much as I’d like. This is also the first Pepper Winters book I have read, but it definitely won’t be the last. From the first page I was drawn into the story, immersed in the pages and lost myself in the most fantastic, heart-stopping, emotional and gripping read!

This story is SERIOUSLY DARK – there is a lot of torture, beatings, and violation. I read the warning and although slightly scared to start, it really wasn’t long before I forgot all about my fears!
Yes, there were probably moments where I wondered why I was enjoying this book?! But isn’t that the joy of good writing! The author makes you push your own boundaries as a reader and still get enjoyment from it…. This book had my heart racing!

Freedom. I had it. But then. I lost it. Murdered, resuscitated, and sold.

In this book we meet Pimlico. We learn a bit about her past and why she is where she is now. She is a slave and is purchased at auction, and kept by her new ‘owner’, Alrik.

“Forget everything about your past and only remember this. You are my toy; my most prized possession. Don’t forget how much I paid for you and what I expect in return.”

Pim learns to survive – she goes through all the motions, and learns how to keep going, mustering strength from somewhere…

Later in the story we also meet Elder Prest. We quickly learn that he’s no knight in shining armour to come to the rescue, but he is sexy and mysterious. He is also dark, scary and incredibly dangerous. And probably just as dangerous to Pim as her current owner – but he see’s her and he wants her.

I wasn’t a nice man.
I was a tormentor. A killer. A thief.
And I wanted to steal her courage drop by fucking drop.

This book is all about the villians. It’s all about the danger. It’s all about the darkness and the horrors of Pim’s current life. But there is also a teeny tiny glimpse of hope?! Possibly….

I’m not going into too much detail – you need to read the book and discover this story and the characters yourself. You are in for one MASSIVE dark and twisted ride!!

I really enjoyed Peppers writing style – the story is written with dual PoV’s. She has carefully crafted an extremely complex storyline, with exciting well thought out complex characters which I know we are going to learn so much more about in the future books in this series. I cannot wait for the next book to see where we are taken next….although possibly a little scared!!

Roll on the rest of the Dollar series!
***** 5 gripping stars *****

Lou x

Purchase Links

★Amazon US ↠ http://amzn.to/2a6IDun
★Amazon UK ↠http://amzn.to/29SiJwl
★iBooks ↠ http://apple.co/22yGfPb
★Barnes & Noble ↠ http://bit.ly/1TXN1uq
★Kobo ↠ http://bit.ly/1WVHdEZ
★Google Play ↠ http://bit.ly/1Plgtvw
★Paperback ↠ http://amzn.to/29TBIBp
★Goodreads ↠http://bit.ly/1X2jy4I

Leave a Reply

