**DOUBLE REVIEW** Trucker by Jamie Scholsser

Trucker cover

Blurb

ANGEL

I know what you’re whispering in the car as you pass me by.

Hitchhiker.

When you see me walking along the side of the road with my thumb out, you’ll probably keep driving without giving me a second glance. You probably think I’m foolish. Naïve.

You might assume I’ve made some bad decisions.

You might think I’m too young to be on my own.

You might be right.

TRAVIS

I love my job, but driving an eighteen-wheeler comes with a certain stereotype. When you hear I’m a trucker, a specific image might come to mind. Uneducated. Dirty. Perverted. Rough around the edges and a little bit dangerous.

But the truth is, I’m not any of those things. In fact, I’m pretty far from it.

You’d be surprised to find out I’m one of the good guys.

 

Review by Lou

This book right here is EXACTLY why I love doing what I do by reading books and reviewing them. Take an author I’ve never heard of before, get asked to read their debut book, be rather intrigued by the synopsis, then be totally BLOWN AWAY by the story itself! This book was absolutely superb and so different to anything I have read before – I don’t really want to say why it’s different, because although you find out certain things pretty early on, I am a true believer of going into some books blind, and this is one of them. What we do know though, that Travis is a good guy!

Travis is a 21 year old Trucker, travelling the country, making deliveries and dropping off his trailer for removals. He absolutely loves what he does but he’s really not your stereotypical trucker, he’s good and certainly doesn’t pick up any hitchhikers! Angel has had a tough time of things and is looking to make her way to California. Being young, and not having much money or any mode of transport she doesn’t have many options to get her there apart from hitchhiking. Travis and Angel meet and end up taking part of the journey together – I really enjoyed their journey and their story together.

This story is sweet, sexy and very funny in places. I had some real laugh out loud moments.

When Angel took her first bite of the nachos, she closed her eyes and moaned. I felt another little stab of jealousy because I hadn’t made her make that sound.

I shook my head because I was being ridiculous. Was I seriously jealous of tortilla chips?

There are also some very sweet, emotional parts, and parts that put a threat to them as a couple. Travis and Angel are very real and very honest with each other from the start. There is no too-ing and fro-ing, no secrets and lies, just straight up truth and honesty!

I LOVED the secondary characters. There was a really great mix throughout the book of other people. I obviously loved the parts with Colton and am REALLY looking forward to the next book in the series. But my main enjoyment with regards to secondary characters came from Beverly. Man, is she one KICKASS Pensioner! She was awesome and so funny, but also very wise!!

“We’re led to believe that expectations are our enemy,”….”The greatest expectations lead to the biggest disappointments, right? Well that’s a bunch of bullshit. In this life, you expect nothing, you get nothing. Expect great things, Angel, Expect everything. Don’t ever sell yourself short.”

I devoured this book from beginning to end and could not put it down. It was easy to read and light hearted, and although there wasn’t a huge amount of drama, there was some which kept the story interesting and kept my attention throughout. The storyline was well thought out and the characters were well developed with good character traits. There was also plenty of heat, and the sexual tension and chemistry between the characters is just a perfect mix! This book swept me away and has made me realise that Jamie Schlosser is going to be an author to keep your eye on – An absolutely fantastic debut novel.

*****4.5 Trucking BIG stars *****

Lou x

Review by Donna


Sometimes it’s nice to sit and read a book that is not what you would consider to be your usual sub genre. Now being a blogger, a romance and paranormal junky, I like to consider myself open to most of the sub genres relating to both of these, but you usually find yourself stuck in your little niche. 

So when a new author ask you to try out her debut book, you first check out the synopsis, it’s intriguing, it definitely caught my attention, book downloaded, I dive in. 

What you get is nothing short of brilliantly, nothing like I was expecting, nothing like my usual niche and I like it a lot. So much so, I can’t put it down, I have to keep reading, I’m so caught up in the book, so submerged in the pages that before I know it, it’s finished !?! 

Now I don’t want to spoil this book for you, as I want you to go into it blind, I did, but there’s something a little different about this book, something I’ve certainly not come across before or if I have it’s not been for a long time and I can’t remember it. And I liked it about this book, let’s just say, integrity is important. And sometimes going in blind is the best way to read a book. 

Travis and Angel are far from a perfect couple, Travis is not your typical Trucker and Angel is not your typical Hitchhiker. Luckily they find each other. They are a perfect fit, but they have to fight to find a perfect mould. 

What I liked about this book was that it wasn’t just about the main characters, the secondary Characters like Beverley, Ernie, Colton all played their parts and gave light comedic relief, Beverley and her potty mouth making me laugh out loud. Each character adding a depth to the story. 

This book was sweet without being sickly, romantic without being over the top it was the right amount, the heat was just enough, the characters had depth and heartache, and you could get that connection. There was enough angst but not enough to spoil the sweet, just the right mix to keep the story interesting and arguments to make it all real and feel just right. 

Thank you Jamie for asking and letting me take a chance on book 1, I’m looking forward to seeing how you develop and how Colton develops into book 2.

4.5 beautifully sweet stars

Donna x

Purchase Links

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2994XTA

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/295QEOe

trucker now available

Leave a Reply

