**REVIEW** IDOL by Kristen Callihan

idol cover

Blurb

Libby

I found Killian drunk and sprawled out on my lawn like some lost prince. With the face of a god and the arrogance to match, the pest won’t leave. Sexy, charming, and just a little bit dirty, he’s slowly wearing me down, making me crave more.

He could be mine if I dare to claim him. Problem is, the world thinks he’s theirs. How do you keep an idol when everyone is intent on taking him away?

Killian

As lead singer for the biggest rock band in the world, I lived a life of dreams. It all fell apart with one fateful decision. Now everything is in shambles.

Until Liberty. She’s grouchy, a recluse—and kind of cute. Scratch that. When I get my hands on her, she is scorching hot and more addictive than all the fans who’ve screamed my name.

The world is clamoring for me to get back on stage, but I’m not willing to leave her. I’ve got to find a way to coax the hermit from her shell and keep her with me. Because, with Libby, everything has changed. Everything.

Review by Lou

I LOVE LOVE LOVE a good Rock Star romance book and I also absolutely love Kristen Callihan, so this one was always going to be one I’d want to read, and this one was absolutely a 5 star read for me! It had a little bit of everything throughout and I was hooked from the very start.

The characters in this book are fabulous. Killian is just the ultimate rocker – I loved him. He loves his music, he loves his band, but he’s also a little lost and has the most amazing sensitive, emotional and kind side to him as well. He is so caring and attentive and I immediately fell in love with him. Even when he made silly decisions, he’s that kind of character that you just ‘get’!

Libby is also such a brilliant female character. OMG, I LOVED her! Yes Killian is the rock star in the famous Kill John rock group, but Libby is her own star in her own wonderful way. Libby’s character is brilliant. When we first meet her and start to get to know her after Killian crashes his bike onto her front lawn, we start to understand that she’s living as a bit of a hermit, having very little contact with the day to day world. She did’t even know who Killian was when he literally came crashing into her front garden.

She isn’t model perfect; I’ve done model perfect, a lot. And at some point, bodies just become bodies. Attractions is a whole different beast.

Killian and Libby embark on developing a wonderful friendship, with the two of them discovering so much about each other. They both have secrets, things they are hiding from or running away from, and influences from their pasts. Whilst Killian is running away from the issues in his life and with the rest of his band members, he discovers Libby’s hidden talents. Those talents, along with his own develop and inspires Killian. But Killian has to go back to his life in the world of a rock star – He has a tour coming up and commitments to his band.

Their friendship leads to more and when Killian has to return, he wants Libby to go with him. But will she? She’s worried how she will be perceived by the rest of the band and the public, whilst Killian just wants her by his side. As with anyone in the public eye, they are going to face a lot of attention and a lot of judgement. Killian has women falling at his feet ALL the time, how will this affect the two of them?

I loved how the relationship between these two developed. It starts off as a really lovely friendship which does develop, you can see their feelings for one another developing through the pages. And when they do finally make that connection…. IT IS HOT!!! Some brilliant scenes, but also the simple connection between these two wonderful people is what makes it for me.

“You know what? Fuck it. Here’s the truth: I wasn’t happy – until I met you.”

I felt it all in this book. Some absolutely hilarious moments, and some brilliant banter between Killian and Libby, but also between all of the other secondary characters, especially the band members. This story moves around quite a bit, with lots of different parts, letting us meet all of the different characters. The story links together really well and the plots is very well developed and put together. So lots of laughs in this book, but I also shed a few tears, felt a bit of anger, and disappointment, then a lot more happiness again. You will go through all of the emotions; this book is one seriously HOT, angsty, roller-coaster of a ride which will make your heart race and leave you wanting MORE! Overall it was very real and very funny with no overly dramatic plot twists or drama. Just perfect…

The musical dedication in this book was also spot-on, with some genuinely classic song references throughout! ❤

Can’t wait for book 2 in this new series now, and was very pleased when I read the snippet to see who this one was going to be about! I can see this being the start of a new favorite series for me!

***** 5 STARS *****

 Lou x

Purchase Links

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1TWfxJV
iBooks: http://apple.co/1NMnNj8
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1VJGAxz

Leave a Reply

