** REVIEW ** Taking Mine by Rachel Schneider

taking mine

Blurb:

“Nothing I have ever tried has given me the thrill like taking something that isn’t mine does.”

Lilly is eager to make a better life, for not only herself, but for the brother who raised her. When her scholarship is revoked, she resorts to desperate measures to pay for tuition, trying to keep her life on track—the same measures she promised herself she’d never take again—and fears the consequences. Things only get more complicated when a deal is offered that is almost too good to be true.

In walks the distraction: Justin. An annoyingly good-looking guy who pushes her to not give up on her dreams, even when things don’t go as planned. Despite Lilly’s best efforts, Justin falls into a world of fast cars, fast money, and fast crooks.

After all, habits are hard to break.

********************

Our Reviews by Lou & Donna:

Review by Lou:

Oh my!! I don’t know what to say… I absolutely love discovering new authors, and when I was offered to read this I jumped at the chance. What I really didn’t expect was that I was going to give this story 5 stars!

I absolutely loved it! It was just my kind of story, I loved the action, I loved the sexiness, I loved the friendships that were formed, I loved the drama, the chemistry, I loved the twists, I loved Rachel’s writing style and I loved the ending. All of it was just brilliant! I was hooked from the start. I loved the banter between the characters and the way the story progressed – great pace throughout with lots of layers to the overall story line.

So in the book we meet Lilly and Justin. Lilly and her brother Kip have been surviving on their own for years following their parents no longer being around. Kip has done his best to bring up Lilly and support her. Lilly is at school, gets on with life, she’s hardened with everything she has been through in life, and does not trust easily. She doesn’t like to drink or go out to loads of parties…. but in the end she does have to resort to some old ways of making some cash and does certain things to make ends meet (I’ll say no more)! She needs to raise the cash she desperately needs since her scholarship has been revoked. Lilly’s character is awesome – she’s a smart, savvy, sexy, sarcastic and strong female character!

Justin is brilliant! I loved his character and him *swoon* I had so many feelings when I met Justin and he made me feel so many different emotions. Him and Lilly run into one another and they form a friendship. There is a lot of attraction there and even more sexual chemistry! But there was something about Justin that didn’t sit right… I loved his character, but I wasn’t trusting him. There was something off, you knew he was hiding something….. The way the story was written, there were a few clues that got me thinking. I must admit I guessed the twist (but not to the full extent or the involvement of other characters….) I love that though – I love when I can suss out things before the big reveal!! A few things triggered my though process as a reader, but it kept me wanting to read more and see if I was right. There was a moment that I changed my mind and thought maybe I was reading into things too much! It was fantastic how the story got my mind wandering and wondering!! 🙂

Lilly and Justin want to spend time together, but there are things from both of them preventing them from submitting to their full feelings! When the huge plot twist happens it changes everything. OH MY GOSH!!! Just brilliant…. So many feelings were evoked from the characters and also from me as a reader – I felt and was able to experience through the story, anger, happiness, guilt, regret, sadness and peace! I laughed out loud and I cried!! All of the secondary characters are great and add a lot to the overall read. Kip is great – you could really see his love and protectiveness for his sister. Also I liked Lilly’s best friend too – some funny scenes with her.

I’m not saying much more as I don’t want to risk giving away any spoilers or ruining any of the surprises! Trust me, they are worth it – go in blind and enjoy it!

This was a superb debut novel from Rachel Schneider & I will definitely be stalking this author from now on (hopefully I won’t be too creepy!) to make sure I read the next books from her & don’t miss out! I simply loved it!!!

***** 5 SOLID GOLD STARS *****

Lou x

________________

Review by Donna:

It’s not often when you find a new author, and immediately you fall in love with their writing style. You find it hard to put the book down and curse day today life for getting in the way, but not only that you cuss yourself out for leaving it so long to pick up just because it’s a debut author and you’re not sure, it sounded ok, but…. Seriously how wrong can you be !

For a debut author I’m in awe of Rachel, now it takes a lot for me to give away my precious stars, a book has to have it all, you have to know it, you get that feeling and I love that feeling it happens in about the first 6/7 chapters but by the end of the book you know it. Rachel nailed it !!!

Lilly (not the flower) is the perfect mix of sassy and sweet, she trusts little but loves hard and would do anything for her brother, the man who gave up everything so she could follow her dream and have the life he so desperately wants her to have. But she’s let her GPA slide and now she’s had her scholarship revoked which means she needs to go back to fast cars, fast money and fast crooks, a life she vowed never to go back too but desperate measures and all that……

Kip is a good guy and she doesn’t want to let him down, he is all she has since their father was killed and mommy dearest walked away, can Lilly do this to him without telling him not if Taylor has his way…

Cue Justin, a complication, a friend, an attraction, a need, a want, a hot guy, a protector. Lilly catches his eye and he can’t seem to shake that feeling, they try friendship and it works it’s easy but full of sexual tension and it spoils and boils over, cue awkwardness, funny moments and the easy banter between the two. Justin trying to be the Alpha but Lilly being brought up the wrong side of town having none of it ( I like her spunk and tenacity this comes off really well) especially when other men show an interest.

Finally they succumb to each other and I gave that little fist pump and cheer, meeting Justins family adds another layer to this book and you see another softer side to Justin which makes him hotter. But all is not as it seems.

The betrayal, lies, truth, love and twist in the plot are all brilliantly interlinked, negotiated and executed to perfection keeping the easy flow of the book and with this in mind kept me reading word for word, page for page and wanting more from Rachel which can only be a good thing.

I’m hoping as this is part 1 that Kip, Lance and Kaley will get their stories told and if they are as good as this one I’ll be waiting.

5 Shining Stars

Donna x

*******************

Purchase links:

Amazon US link

Amazon UK link

Also available on Kindle Unlimited

Leave a Reply

