‘Steady as the Snow Falls’ Review *****

This book was fantastic! There was so much about it that I absolutely loved. It is a book written about a subject I have not read about before, which made it very unique and refreshing.

I have been looking forward to reading this book for some time, so the build up I had been giving it myself made me hope for good things. Right from reading the synopsis and seeing the cover when it was revealed I knew I wanted to read it. That cover is beautiful!

Beth Lambert is hired by a stranger to write his life-story. She is invited to his secluded house in the hills and is to keep his identity a secret. Beth knows that there are rumours and she knows that it may not be the most sensible of ideas, but she is desperate for the money and also an opportunity to kick-start her writing dreams. When she enters his house, it’s cold and practically empty. When she meets Harrison Caldwell, he is scary but intriguing. Then she finds out more about him, his past and his future, and she wants to run… but can she?

“The scent of bleach and synthetic lemons entered her senses, and beneath that, something acridly sweet, like death covered up by the façade of life. Leave, Beth. Leave and never return.”

steady snow 1

__________

The hope I had for this book, did not disappoint. Lindy has written a really wonderful story. The dialogue and words were amazing, with wonderful exchanges between the 2 characters. The story is written in the 3rd, but from the PoV of Beth throughout. Sometimes I struggle with 3rd, and find it takes longer to get into a book, or to really feel part of the story, but I did not have this problem at all. I found myself sucked right in from the start wanting to know more and more about Harrison and Beth. One thing I would have liked, was for it to have had some parts from Harrisons PoV – simply because I felt that he (and his story) is such an integral part to the book. There were a few moments and exchanges where I would really have liked to have known his thoughts a feelings on certain aspects and things that had happened.

“What are you afraid of?” “Everything,” he replied in a whisper. “But especially you.”

I found this story to be a real raw and emotional read and I had tears in my eyes on a number of occasions. It is heart-wrenching, yet really heart-warming. It’s inspirational in the way that it shows what unconditional, selfless love really looks like. As much as there is sadness in this book, it also shows how much positivity can come out of such life changing situations.

“Dreams had to be chased, or they were never caught.”

I really liked Beth’s character. I many ways she is the strong one in this book. In many books, the male character is the one with the strength, and as much as there is strength from Harrison, Beth is the one that pushes and provides so much positivity in this story. Yes, she has her moments of weakness, especially with her ex, but she definitely makes her mark!!

“At some point since she’d met him, she’d unconsciously claimed him as her, and hers he would stay”

This book has it all. I enjoyed the romance, the love, the drama, and surprises. I was interested by the fact that it tackled a potentially tricky subject. I liked all of the characters in the story. But I did NOT like Ozzy – he gave me the creeps!!!!!

I think personally I would have liked a little bit more at the ending; perhaps an extension to the epilogue. But I am also happy to make my own mind up about a couple of things!!

I really wonderful book which I would whole-heartedly recommend to others.
***** 4.5 stars *****

Lou x

__________

Purchase links:

AmazonUS: http://amzn.to/1SHX4jk

AmazonUK: http://amzn.to/1Ne48YZ

AmazonCA: http://amzn.to/1SHWFNO

AmazonAU: http://bit.ly/23DfmxD

B&N: http://bit.ly/1S2bxtf

iBooks: http://apple.co/1SEyUXt

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1Q6Tm1a

Leave a Reply

